Farmers and lumbermen, many who came to the area from German settlements in Minnesota and South Dakota, settled the town of Nezperce. The masons organized in Nezperce in 1901 and used the Oddfellows Hall as a meeting place until construction of their own lodge in 1951. The Masons used the building until 1990 when it became a local visitors center. It houses a collection of artifacts from the area and is open to the public.